Checking in with the Locals: John Laudisio, a.k.a. Johnny Cheeseburger

Posted on October 14, 2014 by

1


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks.

Check out previous local check-ins!

johnnycheese_lw

Photo by Linnea White

John Laudisio, a.k.a. Johnny Cheeseburger

Describe what you do in town.

I handle all of the social media at Musictoday and also work in the box office at the Jefferson Theater. Some of you may have heard of my tremendously successful Johnny Cheeseburger blog, which receives an astounding 3-5 page views a day. My wife and I spend a lot of time telling our french bulldog Sampson to stop licking the couch.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

Usually Cranky

Top Picks

A favorite dish in town.

Linquini alla carbonara from Tavola, hands down. With a bottle of wine and a burrata appetizer, I could eat this everyday for the rest of my life. In fact, that’s my secret as to how I keep my amazing physique looking this trim.

A favorite drink in town.

Killer Kolsch from Champion Brewery. I’m easily satisfied when it comes to booze – set me up with a PBR and I’m good – but the Champion bro’s are doing some really cool things, from their Breaking Bad beer to my wife’s favorite, Positive Jam. I really like their outdoor area too, so I can enjoy my Kolsch with my killer dog.

A favorite local music venue.

I’m a bit biased, but the Jefferson Theater is my favorite spot to see music. Having worked at the now defunct Starr Hill Music Hall and the Satellite Ballroom, the mid-size venues have always been my favorite. For some acts, it’s the biggest show they’ve ever had, and for others (like Snoop Dogg), it’s an intimate gathering with 800 of your closest friends. Would love to see Action Bronson there!