Checking in with the Locals: Dar Malecki

Posted on April 1, 2014 by

1


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks. Check out previous local check-ins!

dar maleckiDar Malecki

Dar lives and breathes the #MADlifestyle. Her vivacious spirit motivates those in and out of the MADhouse. She’ll kick your butt and make you love every minute of it. She’s equally passionate about local efforts and small businesses, and her top Cville picks are definitely worth checking out!

Describe what you do in town (whether it be your job or local interest/involvement in Cville).

I’m a local small business lover, supporter, and owner. MADabolic is not the first business I’ve owned, but it is my absolute passion which, I largely credit to our amazing community and the energy that our members bring in every day. The energy I put out is returned to me three fold and I am so grateful to live in Charlottesville.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables/words or less.

Organized, driven, energetic, powerful, includer

Top Picks

A favorite dish in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

Without a doubt it’s Citizen Burger Bar‘s House Salad with a FEW modifications… it goes like this:
House salad. No bacon, croutons, or cheese. Light onions. Add avocado, blueberries, and either chicken or a Timbercreek patty (pink) on top. Dressing on the side. If you forget, just ask Chris at the Bar — he’s got it down to a fast ordering science.

A favorite drink in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

Jack’s Java Stout from Three Notch’d is one of the only beers that could get me off the couch in the middle of a snow storm. Okay, really any of their brews to be honest. I recently had a birthday party and somehow found myself up four growlers — I guess my friends know me well. No complaints!

A favorite local fitness class, name of the class, fitness center, brief description of the class and why you love it.

Of course, MADabolic! MADabolic is an interval based strength and endurance program where each workout is intentionally crafted to deliver a specific intensity and provide lasting results. Our intervals change daily to constantly challenge our clients, and compliment their active lifestyles. I love the diversity that comes from never repeating the same movements, and the excitement in knowing that each day is going to be brand new.

I’ve also been working with Robin at TruPilates and love to go to her stretching and flexibility class. It has really helped me increase my mobility and perform better in our intervals and my own kettlebell training.

A favorite local artist (any type other than musician), who is it, what type of medium do they use, where was your favorite showing of their art.

Even though she’s not entirely local anymore, I am a huge fan of Erin McDermott Jewelry and love to support her when she’s in town at the Farmer’s Market or doing trunk shows around town. I actually got to know Erin because I used to live in Charlotte (where she currently lives) and she’s just such a high quality and genuine person that it’s just the cherry on top of an already amazing talent. Anyone with a girlfriend, wife, sister, girl-friend, or daughter should check her website out!

A favorite local music venue, name of venue, where’s it located, what makes it special, most recent show you enjoyed there.

Everyone has to love the Pavillion for Fridays After Five, and the summer concert series, but I am a big fan of The Jefferson and The Southern. I’ve been there for a number of shows since I moved here a year and a half ago and have been impressed with the diversity of artists, and management of the facilities. Before moving here I had no idea how amazing of a music scene Charlottesville had and every time I step in to either of those facilities, the intimate nature of the venues paired with the amazing talents that are drawn in, I’m totally blown away.