Checking in with the Locals: Julian Carta

Posted on December 3, 2013 by

7


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks. Check out previous local check-ins!

julian carta, © Cville Niche

Julian Carta

A true Cville local with a Sardinian twang, an electric guitar in hand, and even a part time poster boy for Movember and Strong Man Yoga. Julian’s rockin’ presence on and off the stage makes this lad a go-to music scene expert.

Describe what you do in town (whether it be your job or local interest/involvement in Cville).

I am an Account Manager at the University Division of WorldStrides. I travel a lot for work and Charlottesville has been my home base for almost four years now. I spend my time outside of the office playing guitar and writing songs, namely for Moby & the Dicks. This week, we start recording a full length record with Nate Bolling.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

Actively Engaged

Top Picks

A favorite dish in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

When I was living in England in college, I picked up somewhat of a late-night Doner Kebab habit. Sultan Kebab on 29 N has the best Turkish food in town. I usually order the Yaprak Doner Kebab, it takes me back to the rain-drenched streets and fills me up.

A favorite local musician, name of the musician, type of music, your favorite local show that featured them.

This town is full of so many talented, kind, and amazingly supportive musicians. I can talk about local music for days and I’m really proud to be a part of this scene. Lately, I have been listening to Adam Long’s record, A Brief History. It is pop rock with a bit of twang featuring some great vocals and guitar work. James Gammon produced it and did a fantastic job. I’ll be playing on a bill with Seth Green’s band, Modern Medication and Adam’s band at the Southern in January. Adam has also played guitar with Moby & the Dicks at our last two gigs in town. It has been a pleasure cutting heads with that dude.

A favorite local music venue, name of venue, where’s it located, what makes it special and  the most recent show you enjoyed there.

The Southern Cafe and Music Hall on the Downtown Mall is a Charlottesville institution. It is the backbone of the music scene and has filled the void left by the closure of Starr Hill. My favorite musical experience in Charlottesville was the Mock Stars Ball that took place on Halloween at the Southern. I admit that I am a bit biased considering I was performing that evening, but the venue was sold out before the first act started and six of Charlottesville’s finest bands were covering the work of six legendary bands. All of the performers did great and there was plenty of cross-pollination. The highlight for me was Luke Wilson wearing tights and singing Iron Maiden with Corsair. There was also a rather hairy man in lingerie banging his fists so hard on the stage that my pedal board malfunctioned at least twice during our set.

It was a total Charlottesville freak show and a beautiful night. Some other artists I have recently enjoyed at the Southern are Carleigh Nesbit, Dwight Howard Johnson, Sarah White, Chamomile and Whiskey