Checking in with the Locals: Amy Sarah Marshall

Posted on January 13, 2015 by

1


2015 ushers in another year of Checking in with the Locals! Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche celebrates that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks.

Check out previous local check-ins!

Photo Credit: Billy Hunt (billyhunt.com)

Photo Credit: Billy Hunt (billyhunt.com)

Amy Sarah Marshall

One of the most passionate and active Charlottesville community members we know! This lady is a founding member of the Cville Pride Festival, an annual event embraced by the community. She’s a mover and a shaker in the community, promoting acceptance and equal rights.

Describe what you do in town.

I’m president of the Charlottesville Pride Community Network, which puts on the annual Cville Pride Festival every year. I’m also on the Human Rights Commission for the City. Because of those things, I get to interact with lots of nonprofits and cool organizations around town.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

Vibrant, passionate

Top Picks

A favorite dish in town.

I literally could eat a truck of the lemon chicken at Eppie’s. I don’t know why. I don’t especially love lemon as a seasoning, and I don’t usually prefer chicken, but goodness, I could eat that for days and not be tired of it.

A favorite local fitness class or fitness event.

I’m not alone in loving yoga with Eliza. She teaches a bunch of places; I go to her 11:30am Saturday class at ACAC. Her power vinyasa class leaves me gushing buckets of sweat, feeling utterly worked out and fueled for the week. She’s not your typical teacher, and I’m sure her bold, brash style wouldn’t suit everyone, but I have found her intensity refreshing. And while the class is challenging, it’s not daunting.

In 2nd place: Devil’s Backbone Halloween Trail Run. In the dark. If they are still doing it.

A favorite local gallery/venue to see art.

This is a tough one. I have to choose only one? I love the McGuffey. It’s art, it’s artists studios, it’s events, and it’s interactive – the hands-on nature of the place, the constant production of new work, the classes and demos – it’s just inspiring and welcoming – art feels alive there. So do people. I can’t remember the name of recent exhibits but I WAS there with a local girl scout troop making clay mugs and that was quite something.

