Local Artist Check-in: Corry Blanc

Posted on July 9, 2014 by

1


Corry Blanc: Photo by Elizabeth Casey

Corry Blanc: Photo by Elizabeth Casey

Corry Blanc is the definition of an artist who beautifully blends art and function.

You may have seen his work at homes and businesses throughout the area in the form of beautiful gates and fixtures, his grilling tools at J.M. Stock, or even spotted Corry himself selling handmade goods at the Farmer’s Market. His products are individually hand-forged and created with care straight from the source. Corry’s workplace is both an artist’s studio as a space for creativity and development as well as a true workshop where raw materials are shaped into functional tools and products.

Up until this point, Corry has worked primarily on larger-scale commissioned projects. Currently, Corry is pouring his time and heart into Blanc Creatives, in which he blends his artistic talent into everyday products, such as heavy duty cooking pans, cutting boards, gardening tools, and bottle openers. Corry is focusing on expanding his line of products in both variety and size while simultaneously prepping for debuting at his largest event yet, the LOCKN Festival in September.

Blanc Creatives has just a few days left of their Kickstarter project, which will help these goals come to life. The Niche loves to support the local, the handmade, and the unique artistic talents here in Cville, so be sure to share in this spirit by supporting Blanc Creatives!

Photos Courtesy of Blanc Creatives

Photo Courtesy of Blanc Creatives

Blanc Creatives Products: Photos Courtesy of Blanc Creatives Facebook

Photo Courtesy of Blanc Creatives

Corry Blanc

Tell us a little about yourself. Where are you from? If not Cville, when did you come here?

I grew up in north Georgia around Lake Lanier in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains.  I’ve been in Charlottesville since 2007.

When and why did you start making art? What mediums have you worked with, or particularly enjoy?

I’ve always been an artist at heart.  As a child that was my answer to the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  Well, I haven’t grown up yet but it still feels like the right answer.  As a child my mediums of choice were your basic art sets.  Pens, pencils, crayons, paints, etc.  I seriously immersed myself into art in high school.  I had an amazing art program and a great teacher who really helped me to explore different mediums and expand my skills and interests.  Wheel pottery was my main passion around that time and something I thought pretty seriously about taking up as a career back then.

Blanc Creatives Products: Photos Courtesy of Blanc Creatives Facebook

Photo Courtesy of Blanc Creatives

Most influential artist as a child? Teen? Adult?

All artists and all art has influenced me in some way.  I’ve always found most of my inspiration in the world around me.  As an adult I’ve especially been influenced by early 20th century craftsmen.  Especially the works that came out of Wiener Werkstatte.  If there’s any one source of inspiration and influence for me currently, it’s those guys.  Their main goal was to make all facets of human life into one unified work of art and I totally agree.

What aspects of life excite you, stir your affections, fuel your passions, inspire your art? What influences your art?

I’m fueled by beauty and function and a certain disdain for modern, big box, instant and disposable consumerism.  There was a time when people put great care and thought into what they made and purchased.  Those products were cared for and appreciated by the consumer. And the artisan was sought after and well respected by society.  Now things are mass produced by massive machines and cheap labor over seas and end up in a landfill once the consumer’s ready for something else.  That’s my passion.  To do what I can to reverse that mentality.

Blanc Creatives Products: Photos Courtesy of Blanc Creatives Facebook

Photo Courtesy of Blanc Creatives

What message(s) do you convey through your art? What do you want people to take from seeing your art?

When people see or purchase my work I want them to feel like someone still cares.  A great deal of time goes into everything I make and I want them to feel that what they are seeing or purchasing is the best it can be.  I want them to take a sense of pride with ownership.

What does a day in the life of an artist look like from your perspective?

A day in the life from my perspective starts off pretty mellow.  A relaxing sit on the porch with a cup of coffee, then it proceeds to some sort of organized chaos.  No two days are the same and I’m always working on new projects and ideas.

What makes Cville special for artists of all forms?

Support. That’s what makes this town so great. We’re saturated with artists and craftsmen, but somehow we all seem to stay busy and active with our arts.  That wouldn’t be possible without the support from this community.

Favorite place in Cville to…be creative?

My shop.

Favorite place in Cville to…see art?

IX Art Park

Favorite place in Cville to…grab a bite?

MAS

Favorite place in Cville to… grab a drink?

Anywhere in good company.

What does the not-so-distant future hold for you and your art?

I have a pretty busy not-so-distant future.  I’m working on a new product line which I’m looking to debut on a large scale at the LOCKN music festival in September.

Lastly, describe yourself in 10 syllables.

Stubborn, passionate, creator for life.

