Local Artist Check-in: Lauren Stangil

Posted on March 5, 2014 by

2


WOLFSONG_SkullFor the past four years, this local artist has been a City Market regular. But Lauren Stangil is about to show Cville a whole new side of her art.

Lauren has lived in the mountains and in the desert, back and forth from Charlottesville, but always calling Cville her “grounding force.” Her first major art show, Wolf Songs, is influenced by her time living in Santa Fe, and the color palette is as bright as the space they will be displayed in. Pigment, a design showroom and retail space in McIntire Plaza, showcases different artists each month opening every “Second Saturday.”

Lauren is known for her brightly colored pen and ink illustrations seen in her line of cards featured at the City Market and various retail locations in Cville. For Wolf Songs, she has chosen unique canvases for her paintings, including cow skulls and handmade dream catchers.

Check out these pieces and paintings inspired by animals this Saturday, March 8, from 4-6pm at Pigment.

lauren stangil

Lauren Stangil

Tell us a little about yourself. Where are you from? If not Cville, when did you come here?

My family and I moved to Earlysville when I was 7 so my dad could open his Chiropractic practice in Charlottesville. After graduating from Albemarle High School, I moved to Richmond to attend Virginia Commonwealth University’s School of the Arts where I majored in illustration. During that time I studied painting and drawing at the Lorenzo de Medici Art in Institute of Florence, Italy.

After graduating in the Spring of 2006 I started my own greeting card line, LOLA & BELLA DESIGNS, which I created from my pen and ink illustrations. I have been creating custom pet portraits and children portraits for the last few years. They can be viewed on my website at http://www.laurenstangil.com. I spent time living and traveling out west and most recently moved back from Santa Fe, New Mexico. I have since settled into Crozet where I am working to expand my greeting card line and create new paintings.

When and why did you start making art? What mediums have you worked with, or particularly enjoy?

I started painting for fun when I was 12 and just always knew that I would create art. I have worked in graphite, charcoal, pastel, pen and ink, watercolors, acrylic, oil and gauche, and digital illustration. I would say my preference is for oil or pen and ink.

_Horse Love_

Most influential artist as a child? Teen? Adult?

Ansel Adams’s photos of Yosemite were a big influence on me as a teenager. Alphonse Mucha then and today is a great source of inspiration to me.

dreamcatcherWhat aspects of life excite you, stir your affections, fuel your passions, inspire your art? What influences your art?

Nature and traveling fuel me and my artwork. I love to visit National Parks and to go hiking and camping as much as possible. I enjoy observing and photographing animals and experiencing new landscapes. I think staying connected to nature as much as possible positively influences how I create my art.

What message(s) do you convey through your art? What do you want people to take from seeing your art?

I just want people to feel uplifted when they see my artwork. I want people to enjoy the colors and to make connections with the animals or scenes that I have painted.

What does a day in the life of an artist look like from your perspective?

I am usually in my studio printing greeting cards, taking stationary inventory, or working on new designs for cards and paintings.

What makes Cville special for artists of all forms?

The people that live in Charlottesville have a great appreciation for the arts, of all kinds, and really do a wonderful job of supporting local businesses. I have been a vendor at the Charlottesville City Market for 4 years now, and it is an amazing venue that showcases Charlottesville’s talented artists and craftsmen. The market has provided me with an amazing opportunity to share my artwork with the community as well as meet and make connections with fellow artists that live around me.

WolfSong

Favorite place in Cville to… be creative?

My studio

Favorite place in Cville to… see art?

Second Street Gallery

Favorite place in Cville to… grab a bite?

Bodos

Any other Cville favorites?

Hiking at Sugar Hollow!

What does the not-so-distant future hold for you and your art?

I will continue to work on new oil paintings as well as painting on more cow skulls. In the future I would love to get into designing textiles…

What should we look forward to at the upcoming show, Wolf Songs, at Pigment?

I think I am most excited about the cow skulls. I see them out west more so I am excited to bring them to Charlottesville.

Lastly… Describe yourself in 10 words.

Friendly, Creative, Dedicated, Manifesting, Adventurous, Nurturing, Curious, Funny, Impulsive

