Checking in with the Locals: Ellen Anderson

Posted on November 26, 2013 by

0


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks. Check out previous local check-ins!

ellen anderson © Cville NicheEllen Anderson

From stunning, ethereal photography to melodic vocals, this newly-wed is a beautiful spirit in the local arts and music community. Alongside her husband and local musician Carl Anderson, this gal knows where to best enjoy Cville, and even where to fall in love.

Describe what you do in town (whether it be your job or local interest/involvement in Cville).

I teach high school English and Mythology, but when I’m not doing that, I take photos and sing with my husband, Carl Anderson. I’ve also been learning how to bake, and I have fun making cards. Besides that, I love supporting other musicians and artists by going to shows and keeping up-to-date with their projects.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

i like wearing coats

Top Picks

A favorite dish in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

I could eat the panang and massaman curries at Monsoon-Siam a couple times a week. I love Thai food, and both these dishes are rich in flavor and…simply delicious! Whenever I get to go to Tavola, I order the capellini gamberi “raucci.” It’s an incredible pasta with shrimp, capers, butter, lemon… need I say more?

A favorite local musician, name of the musician, type of music, your favorite local show that featured them.

Well, of course my FAVORITE local musician is my husband, Carl Anderson. Would I be a good wife if I said anyone else? Truly though, I admire his honest and heart-breaking songs, and I feel so lucky to be up there on stage with him. Other favorites include The Hill & Wood and Dead Professional (formally known as The Cinnamon Band). I know I must be forgetting others… there’s just too much talent here!

A favorite local music venue, name of venue, where’s it located, what makes it special, most recent show you enjoyed there.

The Garage is a perfect place to fall in love with music all over again. (It’s also a good place to fall in love… I met Carl here). You get to see bands that you probably wouldn’t hear otherwise, and it’s a casual yet intimate environment. Bring a blanket and some snacks if you really want to do The Garage right.

