Checking in with the Locals: Beate Casati

Posted on November 12, 2013 by

0


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks. Check out previous local check-ins!

Beate Casati

beateDescribe what you do in town (whether it be your job or local interest/involvement in Cville).

I own La Linea Bella! and Atelier ONE Gallery in McIntire Plaza, one of Charlottesville’s most creative neighborhoods. I’m a graduate of the Corcoran Gallery School of Art & Design with a major in Fine Art and Printmaking, and I’ve been a passionate framer and artist here in Charlottesville since the 90’s. You may know some of my paintings from the VETSS clinic up at the Airport (they have a huge collection going).

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

Reinvent!

Top Picks

A favorite drink in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

A big glass of chilled French-style rose at Stinson Vineyards out on their patio — not only is it really delicious, the view out there is fantastic and it’s a great break from every day life. Reminds you to kick back every once in a while and to be grateful for how much beauty we have around here.

A favorite local artist, who is it, what type of medium do they use, where was your favorite showing of their art.

Well, Cindy Burke has to be one of my favorites of course: I love animals and she has a really wonderful sense of humor and great artistic skill to bring out their characters. I can’t wait to see her next show in the spring!

A favorite local gallery/venue to see art, name of gallery, where’s it located, what makes it special, most recent exhibit you enjoyed there.

I loved the recent show of Donna Clark’s oil paintings I hosted at Atelier ONE Gallery. She is really talented and new to the area, I was honored to have been chosen to show her beautiful work and my clients really enjoyed it as well. I think we’ll see much more of her.
After that, Les Yeux du Monde, without a doubt. I loved Kiki Slaughter’s and Isabelle Abbot’s work as well as Russ Warren’s recent series, and am dying to make it up there to see Janet Bruce’s work. They are so committed to nurturing local artists on a bigger scale, and the gallery is such a great independent place to enjoy the exhibits. I admire Lyn’s devotion to her venue and the artists she exhibits.

