Checking in with the Locals: Elizabeth Steel

Posted on October 22, 2013 by

16


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks. Check out previous local check-ins!

elizabeth © Cville NicheElizabeth Steel

Always donned with darling accessories and a smile, Elizabeth sure makes being one of Cville’s young entrepreneurs look easy. This shop owner is a UVa alumni with a love of Cville, and she shared her top local picks for this local check-in.

Check out our new collaboration Dressing Up with Darling!

Describe what you do in town (whether it be your job or local interest/involvement in Cville).

I’m the owner of Darling Consignment Boutique. In other words, I shop a lot and try not to buy everything that comes in.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

Full Closet

Top Local Picks

A favorite dish in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

Does a cupcake count as a dish? We can put it on a plate and count it. I love the salted caramel cupcake from Sweethaus. It’s just the right ratio of cake to icing–enough to allow some icing only bites but not too much to be overwhelming. The salty with the sweet is perfect.

A favorite weekly or monthly drink special, what’s the special, where’s it at, and why you love it.

Anybody who knows me know where to find me on a Tuesday. At Arch’s with a $5 bill in hand for its $5 Tuesdays, when you can fill up any size for the same price. It’s saved me a significant amount of money in the past year and I’m only slightly/not at all ashamed to admit it.

A favorite local fitness class, name of the class, fitness center, brief description of the class and why you love it.

I’ve been going to Tru Pilates since I was in school and take Robin’s classes. I love it up until the point when she starts making us to the ab series, then I vow in my head to never come again, but somehow I conveniently forget all that until the next week when I hear the word “hundreds”…

