Local Musician Check-in: Shane O’Gallagher, The Ha-RAng!#

Posted on October 9, 2013 by

6


the ha rang3If you’ve ever been to The Box, you may already know Shane O’Gallagher, the sometimes bartender, sometimes DJ, always colorful character. But what you may not know is what brought Shane to Charlottesville from his home on the West Coast or what his band The Ha-RAng!# is up to these days.

Hot off of recording their new EP She Wants Pretty, The Ha-RAng!# under the fearless, if sometimes unconventional, leadership of Shane is steadily gaining a following here in Charlottesville, as well as along the East Coast.

Tell us a little about yourself. Where are you from? If not Cville, when did you come here?

You might be the last person to not know, but I’m from Oakland, California. I followed a girl out here who was getting her doctorate in Far Eastern Religious Studies—it didn’t work out. One or two of the songs on the She Wants Pretty EP are about that. Pain is long; life is short, etc. etc.

When and why did you start playing music? What instruments do you play?

I played in a few punk bands back home in Oakland years ago. I played bass but decided I wanted to teach myself guitar. I still would be hard pressed to remember the names of my strings—I play by ear. The necessity to sing came when our original singer split…Being in a band is allot like herding cats. Meow.

P.S. – I’m allergic to cats.

Who has been the most influential artist on you as child? Teen? Adult?

Too many to name, and I’m rather lazy. Next question, please.

When did you write your first song? What was it about?

I guess that would have been in a band called Lachrymose. Until then, I’d write half a song and the guitarist Rockin’ Geoff would write the rest. What was it called..? Ummmm, oh yeah!  “Fire In The Mind.” Also, you don’t want to know what it was about, but I can tell you, it was a heavy hitter.

What influences your writing?

My heart, me brains. Full stop.

What aspects of life excite you and stir your affections, fuel your passions?

Pie. Also, full stop.

When did you play your first gig? What emotions and thoughts ran through your head after finishing?

The Ha-RAng!# played for the first time at Magnolia House. I do this thing when I play shows where I get into everyone else’s Kool-aid, f*ck up my own parts, and start breaking strings. I think Dave Gibson had to thread 3 or 4 in total darkness for me I was mangling them so quickly that night. I think we all climbed that big tree out front right after the gig. It was fun; I felt wild. Meow.

the ha rang1

Do you get pumped or nervous pre-show?

Add drunk and that pretty much is what it’s like, sure.

What do you want people to take from hearing your music? As a fan, what do you want people to take from experiencing your live show?

I really don’t know what to say about that except I hope they like it and are able to get in on the joke with me. I write for myself. I find myself fascinating.

What does the not-so-distant future hold for you and The Ha-RAng!#?

We are going through some growing pains. We lost our keyboardist and coolest part of the band recently, Jessica Shade (she has to study to take the bar exam), so we are trying to fill that void and show up to the couple gigs we have in and out of town. Stuff like that.

Lastly…Describe yourself in 10 words. Be creative.

Musical pick-pocket, leader of a gang of childlike criminals! Ha-RAng!#

the ha rang2

