Checking in with the Locals: Sam Bush

Posted on October 8, 2013 by

5


Charlottesville is a city filled with local-loving people, and a spirit of community and collaboration unlike anywhere else. Every week, Cville Niche will celebrate that spirit by featuring a local’s top picks. Check out previous local check-ins!

samSam Bush

You may know him from Kickstarter video fame, or from the local band The Hill and Wood, or from his bartending days at The Local. Either way, Sam Bush, curator of local venue The Garage, is a  true Cvillian, with a finely curated taste for local gems.

Describe what you do in town (whether it be your job or local interest/involvement in Cville).

I’m the music minister at Christ Episcopal Church which entails leading worship for two of our Sunday services and curating our art space, The Garage. I also play in a band called The Hill and Wood. So I’m around music a lot.

Describe yourself in 5 syllables or less.

Curious (like cats).

Top Local Picks

A favorite dish in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

Chicken and waffles at Ace Biscuit and Barbecue. Has this one been taken? I can imagine about half of Charlottesville has this opinion. It’s just the best dish in town, period. I could have it any time of day. In fact, I’m going to go get it right now.

A favorite drink in town, what it’s called, where it’s at, describe what makes it special/different/one of your favorites.

The Hinton at The Local. I was a bar tender there for a couple of years and I made many a Hinton in my day. It’s a simple bourbon drink, but with Ginger beer and mint, what more could you want?

A favorite local musician, name of the musician, type of music, your favorite local show that featured them.

Any time I can hear James Harris Moore at The Garage, I’m about as happy as can be. His songs are simple and perfect and his voice is always spot on. He’s one of the many treasures of Charlottesville.

A favorite local artist (any type other than musician), who is it, what type of medium do they use, where was your favorite showing of their art.

Clay Witt has an exhibit at The Garage in October and it’s absolutely stunning. His work is such a great mixture of mystical and whimsical. I have a deep admiration and appreciation for what he does.

A favorite local gallery/venue to see art, name of gallery, where’s it located, what makes it special, most recent exhibit you enjoyed there.

I’m biased here, but I do love The Garage. The space offers a great balance between private and public, intimate and yet completely accessible. We love the artists that we get to host there. James Ford had a terrific exhibit there in July – one of my favorites of 2013.

A favorite local music venue, name of venue, where’s it located, what makes it special, most recent show you enjoyed there.

I’m sounding like a broken record here, but again, The Garage. Car Seat Headrest is one of my favorite bands that I’ve seen play The Garage this year. Strong songwriting and really fun performance. They’re definitely a young band to keep your eye on.

