Impermanence: A Dance by Faith Levine

Posted on December 7, 2012 by

2


For Faith Levine, dance is as natural to her as walking. Born and raised in West Virginia, Faith has studied Modern dance since she was 6 years old, choreographing and performing her first solo piece when she was only 8 years old.

After receiving her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Modern Dance from the University of Utah, and performing and producing works with the Oslund+Co/Dance in Portland, Oregon, she moved back East and found her niche in Charlottesville.

These days you can find Faith teaching Pilates and Yoga at her studio, Core, in Belmont, instructing a dancers’ workout at ACAC, or teaching dance at PVCC and Charlottesville Performing Arts School. “Besides dancing and teaching, I get my kicks running around in the great outdoors, growing vegetables in my yard, and sharing my passion for food and exercise on my blog, Gracefulfitness,” adds Faith. Her training opportunities are endless, and she has the spirit and motivational power to get your ‘tush moving!

Tonight, Faith presents “Impermanence” at the McGuffey Art Center for the Miki Liszt First Friday Series.

The piece is a mixed media piece, layering a quartet on video, a trio live, two solos live, and a solo video.

“Dancing your own solo affords a great amount of freedom but can also lead to procrastination and second guessing,” explains Faith. “I’ve choreographed and performed quite a few solos for myself and it is always just a little more challenging than choreographing on others.”

The piece has been in the works for months, including an on location dance/film session at Lambeth Field. Dancers include Faith as well as 7 local dancers, including yours truly (me!). “I was thrilled (and lucky!) to work with seven beautiful Cville dancers to create this piece.”

So come out tonight and support Faith Levine, McGuffey Studios, the Cville Arts, and oh yeah, me! Show times are 6 and 7pm, $8.

faith flier

Q&A with Faith Levine:

What was your inspiration for the piece?
>> I think that it’s common at my age, young thirties, to get a little introspective.  It’s the time in life when you start to realize you are neither immortal or invincible and yet you’re considering passing on your genes to off-spring. The Buddhist call impermanence a human condition, something we all must realize and reconcile.

Describe your creative process for this piece (dance for the camera).
>> I was inspired to do a dance for the camera for two main reasons. First, I love the art of photography/videography and feel like it fits so well with dance to help transform a place/space. Second, I wanted to work with other dancers but I knew that coordinating rehearsal schedules and studio space would be challenging.  Shooting footage meant that we only met once and them most of the time spent “choreographing” was me at my kitchen counter editing video.

Where is your favorite place in Cville to dance (field, studio, bar, stage!)?
>> My kitchen!

