The Recipe Box: Pumpkin Pomegranate Scuffins

Posted on September 21, 2012 by

1


Fall is right around the corner, and one of my favorite things about fall is everything pumpkin. Even though it’s the last day of summer, here’s a tasty recipe I’ve concocted for you all to try this fall!

Last night I happened to have some leftover pumpkin filling and a package of pomegranate seeds, so I got to thinking and came up with this recipe… I was aiming for muffins, but due to the lack of milk I went for a hybrid of muffins and scones – or, scuffins!

One of my other favorite year round items is cream cheese icing – not the neufchatel stuff, the full fat and tasty cream cheese. But in an effort to be healthy, I mixed some Greek yogurt with my whipped cream cheese. I mean, if you add Greek yogurt to anything it should automatically be considered healthy, right?

Pumpkin Pomegranate Scuffins

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup Irish oats (regular oats work too!)

1/2 cup turbinado/natural sugar (regular sugar can also be used)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 cup greek yogurt

1 egg, beaten

2 tbs melted butter

3/4-1 cup pomegranate seeds

Lemon Cream Cheese Yogurt Frosting

1 cup whipped cream cheese

3/4 cup greek yogurt

1/4 cup agave

1/2 lemon juice

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Pull out 2 cookie sheets.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. In another bowl, combine wet ingredients.
  4. Toss pomegranate seeds in the flour mix to coat.
  5. Add wet ingredients to dry mix. Stir until just combined.
  6. Spoon onto cookie sheets, about a tablespoon size. Bake for 20-30 minutes. Let cool before frosting.
  7. Blend cream cheese, greek yogurt, agave and lemon juice. Add more agave and/or lemon to taste.

Note: Since there’s yogurt in the frosting, I stored them in the fridge, which actually makes the pomegranate seeds pop a lot more with flavor when you bit into them the next day.

Hope you enjoy! What are your favorite fall recipes?

Posted in: food, The Recipe Box